Phishing Attack on Punjab National Bank Site

Phishing Attack on Punjab National Bank Site

There has been alarming rise in the phishing incidents in the past month on all major financial institution internet sites.

We have regularly been updating our visitors about these mails.We also thank our readers/visitors to share such incidents with us and taking an active part in combating phishing by making public aware of these mails.

Here is an another email alleged to be sent by Punjab National Bank to its users which has been sent to us by our visitor Mr. Maninder Singh, a techie by profession who runs a successful websites such as www.123oye.com and www.cybersmart.in. 

Sent: Sunday, October 05, 2008 8:30 AM
Subject: Update

  Technorati Tags: , , , ,

.IN Domain Name Dispute Arbitration Fee Slashed

.IN Domain Name Dispute Arbitration Fee Slashed

IPRFirm, New Delhi: .IN Registry has slashed its Domain Name Dispute Resolution Arbitration fee.

The fee charged by the National Internet Exchange of India (NIXI) was as follows -:

.IN Administration Fee :Rs. 5,000

Arbitrators Fee : Rs. 25,000

The new fee schedule which is in force now has revised as follows -:

.IN Administration Fee : Rs. 1,000

Arbitrators Fee : Rs. 9,000

For Personal Hearing : Rs. 5,000/- per hearing (Maximum to four hearings)

It is expected to increase the filing of .INDRP Disputes with the registry which was detrimental to the high costs earlier.

Modern School Website Contains Malicious Code (Virus)

Saturday, 10th May, 2008: New Delhi: Modern School, Barakhamba Road,New Delhi official Website www.modernschool.net contains Malicious Code warns Google.

According to the search results, the message depicting “The site may harm your computer” means that the website may install an unknown malicious software on the computer of the visitor of that particular website.

It’s a high time, industry should formulate strategies to counter such problems and take appropriate actions against the offenders.

Our legal system comprehensively provides legal remedies to tackle such crimes.

Typosquatters Attack on Citibank Domain

Citibank Domain : www.citibank.co.in

Typo Domain : www.citibamk.co.in / www.citibamk.org

Citibank, a leading US financial institution’s Indan domain name has been attacked by Mr R. Jain who is a resident of Rajasthan, India as provided by .IN WHOIS Registry records.

An alarming situation to witness wherein a typosquatter has registered the domain www.citibamk.co.in in the year 2005.There is a parking page with nice advertisement platform provided by Sedo. Till today, no action has been taken against him by the banking institution.

More alarming is the research that the World’s largest banking institution has been witnessed as a failure to police its online Intellectual Property worldwide.

Although Citibank, N.A holds domain rights in Citibamk.com and citibamk.net but citibamk.org again is registered by Darren Brasher from Australia recently in March, 2007.

The Intellectual Property Protection & Enforcement Strategies are very important for the companies to adopt and specially the policing of their IP Assets in an online enviorment.